Dreamchaser CD

( Manhattan Records / EMI - 2013 )

My CD Review
  1. Angel
  2. One Day Like This
  3. Glosoli
  4. Lento e Largo from Symphony No.3 (Symphony of Sorrowful Songs by Gorecki)
  5. B 612
  6. Breathe Me
  7. Ave Maria
  8. Eperdu
  9. A Song of India
  10. Venus and Mars
  11. Closer

Additional Comments

This album for me is a total disappointment.  I have come to expect great things from Sarah each and every time she releases a new album, but this does not even come close to the standards of quality and craftmanship that I have come to expect from her.  Noticeably absent are the beautiful crossover songs that showcase Sarah's crystalline voice, and the passion and emotion that is her trademark.

The opening track Angel is the only bright spot on the album, and unfortunately it is not an omen of what is to follow.  The Lento e Largo from Henryk Gorecki's Symphony of Sorrowful Songs for instance lacks the power and emotion that makes this symphony so stunning, and Sarah's performance does not even come close to that of American soprano Dawn Upshaw.  And I found a lot of extraneous noise in many of the songs, and some I could not even listen to right through.

I know that there are people out there who will like this album, but for me this is a complete flop.  I can't believe that I would ever write this about an album by Sarah, but unfortunately it rings true in my opinion.  Plus the whole media build-up and hype prior to the album release fueled my expectations, but somehow deep down I had a feeling that this would ultimately happen.

In closing, I will not be attending the Dreamchaser world tour concert, primarily because of the poor quality of this album, but also due to the excessive cost for tickets.  My only hope is that Sarah returns to the form that created amazing albums like La Luna and Symphony.

Return to the Home Page

John's Secret Garden Tribute Site