Winter Poem

"On the greyest morning you wake up to the first day of snow and welcome the transformation of a dark landscape
into a magical, white scene... with joy and anticipation.
On the coldest day you appreciate the warmth of a fireplace and a blanket wrapped around you... the most.
On the darkest night you can see the stars of the northern sky and the endlessness of the universe... the clearest.
Winter is a harsh but yet beautiful time of year and for us living in the north, a natural part of our lives and who we are.  For me, the winter is a time of inspiration and the long, dark nights - a time for music and creativity.
Winter Poem is our ode to winter.


Fionnuala Sherry on violin and Rolf Lovland on piano/keyboards

All music by Rolf Lovland except as noted

  • Make a Wish
  • Song for a New Beginning
  • Dream - Lyrics by Rolf Lovland.  Vocals by Moya Brennan.
  • Frozen in Time
  • Anticipation
  • Fionnuala's Cookie Jar
  • Mary's Lament - Lyrics by Brendan Graham.  Vocals by Fionnuala Gill (aka Saoirse).
  • Song at the End of the Day
  • Lament for a Frozen Flower
  • Powered by Nature - Lyrics by Rolf Lovland.  Vocals by Espen Grjotheim and Tracey Campbell.  The full production of this song grew out of the entire suite (next track).
  • Suite - Six movements: Prelude, Intermezzo, Polka, Air, Interlude and Hymn.  Air movement - music by Kate Gulbrandsen and Rolf Lovland.  Secret Garden was commissioned to write and record this music for the Shanghai Expo 2010 as part of a multi-media presentation at the Norwegian Pavilion.


Winter Poem once again showcases the extraordinary talents of Rolf Lovland and Fionnuala Sherry as they continue to tug at your heartstrings and provide the world with some of the most beautiful music imaginable.  The eleven selections on this album reveal the amazing compositional skills of Rolf Lovland, who weaves a tapestry of musical styles and colours over the course of this incredible musical journey.  The music within some of the selections reveal the influence of the classical realm on the composer, but there are other styles as well which are coloured by the composer's Norwegian heritage, and that of his Irish partner Fionnuala Sherry.  The orchestration is lush and full, providing the perfect backdrop for this radiant music, but the core of this ensemble remains front and center - that being the heartfelt piano and violin duos of Rolf and Fionnuala.  The album also features three vocal tracks, and the singers employed for this task are more than capable of providing dynamic voices for the stunning music.  Moya Brennan of Clannad fame adds her fitting ethereal Celtic voice to the song "The Dream", while Fionnuala Gill (aka Saoirse) provides absolutely stunning vocals to the touching Christmas song "Mary's Lament".  Rounding out the vocal tracks are the voices of Espen Grotheim and Tracy Campbell on the powerful ballad "Powered by Nature", a song that grew out of the suite that Secret Garden was commissioned to write and record for the Shanghai Expo 2010 as part of a multi-media presentation at the Norwegian Pavilion, which is also included on this album.

Secret Garden continues to deliver some of the most beautiful melodies ever written, pouring out their heart and soul through their instruments in one of the most amazing musical collaborations ever created.  The backing musicians and vocalists are all outstanding, and they really enhance the core piano and violin sound with their incredible performances.  This album continues the heartfelt tradition established with their debut release Song from a Secret Garden and continued throughout their career to this their seventh studio recording.  This music will reach out and touch you in a way that you may never have thought possible.

Bravo Secret Garden for creating another musical masterpiece!!

Return to the top of the page

Return to the music page

John's Secret Garden Tribute Site