Sacred Night


Fionnuala Sherry on violin and Rolf Løvland on piano
All lead vocals by Cathrine Iversen
Orchestra: F.A.M.E.'s Orchestra, Macedonia

All music and lyrics by Rolf Løvland except as noted

  • Sacred Night - Backing vocals: Espen Grjotheim
  • Sagnet om Julerosen (The Legend of the Christmas Rose) - Sung in Norwegian.  Backing vocals: Renate Gjaerlow Larsen.
  • Mørketid (Winter Darkness) - Sung in Norwegian.
  • Mary’s Lament - Lyrics by Brendan Graham.  Orchestra: Czech National Symphony Orchestra.  A new recording of this song.  The original version was on the Secret Garden album Winter Poem with vocals by Fionnuala Gill.
  • I Dette Stille Øyeblikk (In This Quiet Moment) - Lyrics by Cathrine Iversen.  Sung in Norwegian.
  • Desembernattens Sang (December Night's Song) - Sung in Norwegian.  Backing vocals: Renate Gjaerlow Larsen.  Features a brass quintet.
  • I Know A Rose Tree - Music by Michael Praetorius and lyrics traditional, arranged by Rolf Løvland.  Choir: Anúna, arranged and conducted by Michael McGlynn.   A new recording of this song.  The original version was on the Secret Garden album Fairytales as well as Essential Anúna.


The long-awaited and debut Christmas album by Secret Garden is not comprised of the customary traditional Christmas songs, but rather a selection of original compositions sung in both English and Norwegian.  However the songs on this album are akin to traditional Christmas songs, and are magnificently performed with an abundance of Christmas joy and spirit.

Norwegian singer Cathrine Iversen, who has been a part of Secret Garden for many years, provides stunning vocals with her powerful and emotive voice.  Fionnuala Sherry on violin and Rolf Løvland on piano, along with the other members of Secret Garden and the F.A.M.E.'s Orchestra, provide a magnificent backdrop for this stunning set of yuletide music.  Of particular note is the breathtaking title track "Sacred Night", the Norwegian song "Desembernattens Sang", complete with its brass quintet that harks of Christmases of yore, and the beautiful hymn "I Know a Rose Tree", so wonderfully complimented by the Irish choir Anúna.  And even if you don't comprehend the songs with Norwegian lyrics you will still appreciate the utter beauty of these songs.

All of the musical selections on this album are new, with the exception of two tracks that are new recordings of previously released songs.  The song "Mary's Lament", originally on the Secret Garden album Winter Poem, and the traditional "I Know a Rose Tree", released on the Secret Garden album Fairytales and Essential Anuna.  Rolf Løvland penned almost all of the music and lyrics on this album with the exception of "I Dette Stille Oyeblikk", whose lyrics were written by Cathrine Iversen, the aforementioned "Mary's Lament", whose lyrics were written by Brendan Graham, and the traditional hymn "I know a Rose Tree".

If you are looking for a Christmas album that is different from the norm, but still has that Christmas feeling, than this is the one.  Secret Garden is once again at their very best, and the results are a magnificent album!  My only wish is that this album would have contained a lot more of this wonderful Christmas music!

Bravo Secret Garden for making the Christmas season during these trying times much more enjoyable!


The Norwegian songs are all translated into English in the YouTube videos that Secret Garden are posting every week.  If you are interested just press the “closed caption” button and follow the subtitles in English.

Secret Garden's Youtube Channel

Return to the top of the page

Return to the music page

John's Secret Garden Tribute Site